Small Goals

My huge goal is to make a living from my music by the end of 2017.  Based on my lifestyle, I need to make about $70 per day, everyday, to accomplish that goal.  In the meantime, I am setting some tiny goals, some small goals, some medium sized goals, and some big goals along the way, to truly appreciate the process even more than I already do.

Tiny Goal 1: 1 new follower on Spotify

As of January 4th, 2017, I have 42 followers on Spotify, up from 39 just a couple of weeks ago.  I’ve embedded a Spotify player on missionman.net, and added a Spotify tab on my Facebook page.  To make a living solely from Spotify, I would needed about 17,000 plays per day. Each new follower gets me closer to that goal, and each day I gain a new follower is a day I accomplish this tiny goal.  You can follow me on Spotify here.

Small Goal 1: 1 day of making a living

If I make $70 on any individual day, that’s enough to say I made a living from music that day.  With “25” coming out on January 20th, I believe that day will be my first day this year of being able to say that, especially with the CD Release Party I’m having that night at the Southgate House Revival in Newport, KY.  Each day that I hit the $70 mark is another day that I can say I’m making a living from my music.

Small Goal 2: Hit #1 on Reverbnation Hip-Hop Charts for Cincinnati

I have hit #1 on the Reverbnation Hip-Hop Charts for Oxford before, and in the last week, I’ve gone from 79 on the Cincinnati Hip-Hop Charts to #14.  Reverbnation isn’t as popular as it once was, so this goal is attainable, and fun.  To accomplish this goal, I’m adding a new song from “25” to my Reverbnation page each day until January 20th.  Medium sized goals from there include top 20 in Cincinnati overall (I’m currently #91) and #1 in Cincinnati overall.

Big Goal 1: Make a living from Spotify for 1 day

I would need approximately 17,500 plays to do this, as I average .4 cents per play.  With my 42 followers, they would each need to play 400 songs in a day, or with my 1,020 Facebook fans, if every single one of them listened to “25” in its entirety, I’d hit 25,500 plays.  The chances of this happening on January 20th are very slim, but I’m hopeful that this will happen at least once this year.  Currently, I average about 4 plays per day on Spotify, but I believe that number will go up with the release of “25” and with all of you wonderful people sharing my music on Spotify.  I will also file 100 plays on a single day under medium goal.

Big Goal 2: Make a living from music sales for 1 day

This could conceivably happen on January 20th, the day that “25” comes out.  If someone buys 25 on Bandcamp for $10, I keep $8.50, so I would need to sell 8 copies ($68 is close enough to $70) to make this possible.  If someone buys on iTunes for $10, I get $6.47, so I would need to sell 11 copies.  Those are high numbers for me to hit in a single day, but they have happened before at shows.  They’ve never happened solely from online sales, aside from a couple of crowdfunding campaigns.

Big Goal 3: Make Music Profitable

This is a major challenge, and I’ve done it a few months in my life.  By profitable, I mean it has to cover all costs (Facebook ads, fliers, other online ads, gas, web hosting costs, CD pressing costs, production costs, etc.).

Big Goal 4: Hit The Billboard Charts

I’ve read conflicting numbers about how many sales will get you there.  I’ve seen one web page say that 50 sales will get you to #200 on the Heatseekers chart, and others that say it’s anywhere between 100 and 500 sales.  Pre-sales count towards this number, and the first week goes until the Thursday after the release date, so any sales I generate between now and January 26th will count.  So far, I have 1 official pre-sale, but there’s still over 2 weeks before the actual release date, so it’s still early.  I will file 50 albums sold under a medium sized goal.  Even if I don’t hit the Billboard charts, that will be a huge celebration.

Everyday goal: Be Thankful

I’ve already accomplished this, of course.  Without music, I have no idea what my life would be like, but with it, I’ve had a sense of purpose for the last 25 years.  Even during the rough times, I’ve had some amazing experiences, and the best of times are better than anything else I could imagine, aside from love and family.  Thank you for helping to be a part of it all, and extra thanks for helping me accomplish these goals as well.

Published by: Mission Man

I am a conscientious hip-hop musician, and have been rapping since 1992. I started playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard, in addition to producing my own music, starting in 1998. For full details, see the official website at MissionMan.net.

Categories Uncategorized1 Comment

One thought on “Small Goals”

Leave a Reply

