Thank you Dayton! My first full show in 3 years was a success!

Dear people and city of Dayton,

Huge thanks to everyone who came out to the show at Blind Bob’s on Friday!  It was my first full show in Dayton in 3 years.  I will be doing full shows more often.  Dayton has always shown me love, and I have given back with love of my own.  I will now commence in explaining my relationship with Dayton, and why it makes me very happy to be back doing full shows there.

Starting from my beginning, I was born in Dayton on January 19th, 1979.  I grew up in Oxford, and have lived here from the time I was 5, aside from 2 years in Orlando in high school, and my 9 month hiatus to Chicago, but Dayton has always been great to me!

I started performing in Dayton in 2005, shortly after my success building a following in Oxford.  My first show in Dayton, I went to Wright State University and U of Dayton to pass out demos.  I think I handed out 500-600 demos between the two campi (campuses; I just pretend that the plural of anything ending in “us” is “i” sometimes, like “cacti”).  It worked, as 30-40 people came to see me at Elbo’s!  I consistently drew crowds about that size for the next several shows as I handed out 300-400 demos for each show.  I was definitely spending more money promoting the shows than I was getting paid to play them, but I was having a wonderful time!  

Image

I also performed at a house party where I signed an acoustic guitar and gave it to the birthday boy.  That too was very fun, as the house was pretty packed!

Gradually, my following declined, and maybe 2 years later I moved to Chicago to jump start my music career.  It backfired, and you can read more about that in other posts, but after I came back from Chicago, I went on my Do What You Love tour in the summer of 2009.  I performed on a Wednesday night at Oregon Express as part of the Buddha Den concert series.  

Mission Man crowd Oregon Express Do What You Love Tour 2009
Before Friday, this was my last full show in Dayton.

Definitely a highlight of the tour!  

I’ve spent the last 3 years really focusing on rebuilding something in Dayton, performing at the open mic nights at South Park Tavern and Blind Bob’s at least 30 times between the venues, plus a handful of open mikes at One Eyed Jack’s and even one at a coffee shop.  I’ve run into some of my old fans from the Elbo’s days during the process, and made some new fans as well.  

I tried multiple times to book shows in Dayton over the past couple of years, and I was finally able to do so recently, thanks to Vanity Theft, and my friend Brandon at Blind Bob’s.  I had been wanting to see Vanity Theft in person for a while, so I was definitely excited about opening for them.  I also checked out Good Sir Con Artist and Belle Histoire before playing and liked what I heard.  The entire lineup was very good, and I’m glad I got to be a part of it.

The show was definitely success!  I made some new fans, and had some existing fans come see me.  I also sold a couple of t-shirts.  I will absolutely be coming back.  With a little help, I’ll be having a CD release party for M” in October there during the 20 year anniversary of when I started rapping.

Thank you Dayton for all of the love.  I reciprocate the feeling.

Love and respect,
Mission Man 

Published by: Mission Man

I am a conscientious hip-hop musician, and have been rapping since 1992. I started playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard, in addition to producing my own music, starting in 1998. For full details, see the official website at MissionMan.net.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

