Before Music

This is my first post in a series of posts called From The Beginning. I will attempt to entertain you with stories. Some funny. Some inspirational. All should showcase my personality.

I was born at 7 pm on January 19, 1979. My Sharona by The Knack was the number 1 song on the radio that week, and yes I liked the song before I found that out.  I was 9 lbs. 10.5 ounces and 22″ long when I was born, and during birth my head got stuck. The doctor had to use what were essentially tongs to pull me out. That should explain a few things.

My very first memory is the image of the backseat of a VW Bug as I was in that backseat from Ohio to California when I was 3. I’ve been told that we lived in the same apartment complex as the little girl from Poltergeist and that I used to play with her big brother

When I was 5, we moved back to Ohio, to my hometown of Oxford. I was very fortunate to meet my best friend at the age of 6. We’re still best friends today and having a best friend for that long has helped teach me about what’s truly important in life.

I was a big nerd growing up. I was on the high school chess team in middle school. I wore Bart Simpson boxers on top of my underwear to school once thinking they were regular shorts.

I was always one of the tallest kids in my class, and went from 5′ to 5’8″ in 3 months. I was 6’2″ and 160 pounds when I was 12. My physique resembled a piece of cardboard, and I had bad teeth, thick glasses and horrible acne. It didn’t matter though because I had the support of my family and best friend, so I was a happy kid.

I also got my confidence from my intelligence. I never really bragged about it, and I’m not bragging now.  My ability to learn is a gift, as is my creativity, and I’m blessed to be able to share it with you. I’m simply letting you know about it because it has certainly shaped my life.

I was the first student in the Talawanda School District to take pre-algebra in 6th grade, which lead to getting a perfect score on the Stanford standardized test, which lead to Talawanda offering me the opportunity to skip 7th and 8th grade.  I chose to only skip one grade because I didn’t want to be the youngest at the high school 3 years in a row. I didn’t even consider the effect of starting college at 16 (that’s later in the story).

I often claim “Inventor” as my first ever rap song, and I still see it that way, but in middle school chorus our teacher made us write a rap song. I wrote a parody of Ice Ice Baby called Rice Rice Krispies. It was awful. The only lines I still remember are “rice rice krispies too old too old” and “take a bath in some math.” It was embarrassingly bad.

When I was 13, we moved to Orlando so my mom could get her PhD in accounting from the University of Central Florida, and that’s where we’ll pick up next time.

Leave a Reply

