Daily Encouraging Words

I’m a very positive person, so I want to spread that positivity daily on my Facebook page. I will mix it up a little. Sometimes it will simply be a philosophy I have about life. Other times, it will be an uplifting song. It might be an encouraging song lyric. Perhaps it will be a short story from my past, or a positive reaction to something that happens to me that particular day.

I have been through a lot of bad things in my life, and I’ve experienced some tremendously uplifting moments as well.  For me, it’s mostly about what I choose to focus on.  I know plenty of bad things happen all the time, and I don’t completely ignore them, but that’s not where I choose to spend my energy.  I prefer using my time and effort to make a difference in the lives of the people in mine.  For my best friends, that can mean listening when they really need someone, or doing something to cheer them up when they’ve had a bad day.  For those friends, I’ve done things as crazy as starting a 12 hour drive at 11 pm in order to visit a friend for a week to help him make a major decision.

For my friends who aren’t quite as close, I still help them when and where I can.  Sometimes, it’s simply responding to something they’ve posted online, or I’ll text them and let them know I care or that I have love for them.  To me, that’s just what friends do.

For my Facebook fans, I now want to extend that part of me to you.  I already do it in my music, and will continue to do so, but if you’ve taken the time to listen to my music and like my page, I want to take the time to give you a little more, too.  I know that if you’re in New York City, the fact that I’m performing at an open mic night on Monday in Newport, KY isn’t very relevant.  It’s nice for you to know that I’m still living my dream, but you’re not likely to drive 11 hours (or fly 2) in order to see me perform for 10 minutes, so I want to give you something more relevant.

Just some quick examples of what you can expect:

Example 1: When I was 18, I made some bad financial decisions and dropped out of college as a Junior.  It took me 2 years, but I worked my way back into college, and working full-time while going to school full-time made graduating that much more rewarding.

Ex. 2: Most of you know my mom passed away when I was 15.  I’m now 32, and I will never forget what she taught me.  She was in her 40s with 4 kids, and 3 teaching jobs while going to school full-time for her PhD and when she came home she was simply happy to see us.  Because of her, I have a strong drive and tremendous work ethic, but I understand that love is more important than anything, and the most valuable things in my life are my family, my friends, and my dreams.

Ex. 3: For most of the set, the room was silent.  Then, halfway through “Do What You Love,” 4 people came to the front of the stage, dancing, and really getting into, creating a moment that carried the night into greatness.

Thank you, and I hope I make your days brighter!
With Love,
Mission Man

Published by: Mission Man

I am a conscientious hip-hop musician, and have been rapping since 1992. I started playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard, in addition to producing my own music, starting in 1998. For full details, see the official website at MissionMan.net.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

