All In

I have always put a ton of passion, effort, energy, and sacrifice into my music. I’ve slept in my car, driven hours to go to open mikes, spent thousands of dollars on instruments, recording equipment, advertising and more. Right now, I’m in the process of doing even more. This is about me going all in by putting an even bigger focus on music in hopes that I will be able to make a living from my music…

This twelve month period, from May 2011 to May 2012 will be the year that I’ll have sacrificed the most. So far, it’s been well worth it. The “liberty island” release tour was a tremendous experience! It reminded me just how much I love performing. I’ve also created 6 music videos for songs from “liberty island” and I’m close to finishing the video for “i don’t need.” I will stop after 9, after creating videos for “starting over,” and “no ego.” The timing of finishing those should coincide with my going down to part time at work…

Which brings me to my plan for the next 12 months or so. For the next 6-8 weeks I’ll still be full time at the Papa, until I can get caught up on bills, and until the store can successfully make the transition from the slower business of summer to the much busier school year. If I were current on bills, and there was no transition period, I’d cut down to part time right now. However, I’m not going to leave the store in a bad situation. I like the people I work with and have no desire to make their lives more difficult…

Once I make the transition to part time, I will be performing 3-5 nights per week. I’ll be focusing heavily on Cincinnati and Dayton because I need to have a couple of local places to have a strong following in. I’ll be focusing on open mikes until that following is generated. Once I have those home bases, I will focus on touring again.

I have created a Mission Man Tour Page on my website, which is an interactive page that allows you to help me book better tours.  There’s a demand it widget, so you can easily demand that I play in your town, as well as a survey asking where I should play, and a Facebook group where you can give me suggestions as well.  I really want to play where people want to see me, but I don’t know where those places are without feedback, so I’m doing everything I can to get feedback, as well as find ways to make it easier for you to know when I’ll be playing where you are.

By going down to part time, I will just barely be making enough money to cover my bills.  I won’t be saving anything.  I won’t be getting ahead financially.  But, I feel like having the extra time to devote to performing will get me closer to living my dream full time.

Obviously, this is a risk.  If it doesn’t work out, I will probably take a dramatically different approach.  Does it mean I’ll stop making music? No.  But it might mean going back to being solely a recording artist.  It might mean moving to a new city.  It might mean a lot of things.  Whatever it means, I’m going all in to make sure I’m making the right decision.

Published by: Mission Man

I am a conscientious hip-hop musician, and have been rapping since 1992. I started playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard, in addition to producing my own music, starting in 1998. For full details, see the official website at MissionMan.net.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

