18 years, thank you music!

My first song is now old enough to vote, get married, or join the military if it so chooses.  It’s hard to imagine just how much of an impact the three words “kick a rap” have had on my life when Cleveland Fuller said them to me back in October of 1992.  My response, after telling him I couldn’t, was a 30 second freestyle that became the song “Inventor.”  It is impossible to tell the entire story in a blog.  I could write a book, but I won’t.  Instead, I’m going to tell the story, through music, one song at a time on my Facebook page.  I will post addenda here as well, every time I put up a new song.

Starting October 23rd, I will be taking down every song on MissionMan.net, and will be putting them back up one at a time with stories attached, approximately every 4 days for the next 6 months.  If you just want the music, and not the stories behind them, you can always name your own price to download my music at mavaru.com/missionman.  I am doing this partially for me, to remind myself of all the ways music has truly enhanced my life, and partially for you, so that you can get a deeper understanding of what music means to me and how it has truly changed my life.  Music has enriched my life in ways money never could.

In 1992, music helped me through moving 1,000 miles from my childhood home, and since then has helped me through the loss of my mother to cancer, paying my way through college, dropping out when I couldn’t afford it, working my way back to college, being homeless (very briefly) after graduating college, sleeping in a closet because a close friend was too sick to work, and much more.  Not only has music helped me through the hard times, but it has really accentuated the great times.  Most importantly, music has taught me about myself.  Through the self-reflection and self-expression music has allowed me, I have learned things I’m not sure I ever would have learned without it.

So I say thank you music!  Thank you for everything!  Thank you to the amazing fans and friends I’ve made along the way for allowing me to keep making music and giving me opportunities I never would have had on my own!

Published by: Mission Man

I am a conscientious hip-hop musician, and have been rapping since 1992. I started playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard, in addition to producing my own music, starting in 1998. For full details, see the official website at MissionMan.net.

Categories Thank you musicLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

