Special open mic moments

For this series of random events, I think the best beginning is right now.  Tonight, at Blind Bob’s in Dayton, Ohio, I had a special open mic moment.  I had been sitting at the same table for a little over an hour, noticing there were about 10 people in attendance.  I have had great nights with less, but I was hoping just a handful more would show up.  Sure enough, they did and shortly thereafter I went on stage.   Halfway through my first song “wonder,” I noticed a complete lack of reaction from the crowd.  As much as I love music, it is very hard to give  everything I have into a performance when no one appreciates it.  A few moments later, I noticed a table with two people.  One was a female, who was clearly watching me, not just being nice.  The other was a male, who was doing the same.  Just those two people made the difference between just practicing the lyrics, and actually giving a great performance, culminating in dancing all around the bar during the instrumental ending to “time to make it happen.”  Those two people, Joe and April, made tonight special.  I was living my dream, instead of just practicing in public.

As I remember other special open mic moments, I will leave them as comments.

Published by: Mission Man

I am a conscientious hip-hop musician, and have been rapping since 1992. I started playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard, in addition to producing my own music, starting in 1998. For full details, see the official website at MissionMan.net.

Categories Open Mikes3 Comments

3 thoughts on “Special open mic moments”

  1. Of course, there was the very special open mike moment at Stadium in Oxford, OH in the fall of 2004. After 5 weeks of being ignored and booed, I tried one last time and 3 people went crazy. Those 3 turned into 40 in a few weeks, and 2 months later I was performing for 120 people in my hometown. See the details in the “Stadium open mic” blog.

  2. In October of 2006, I quit my job for a brief time to go on tour. It was 16 days in a minivan, and I filled most nights with open mikes. At one of my open mikes, at Cousin Larry’s in Danbury, CT, I was heckled, and the heckler was kicked out. At the same open mic, I mentioned that I was so low on cash that I bought applesauce and raisins at the store because they’d keep in the van and were very cheap. One of the performers responded “applesauce and raisins?” and proceeded to pay me $20 for one CD. It kept me going. At another open mic during that tour, at the Grape Street Pub in Philadelphia, I was waiting to go on stage and told my story to one of the other performers. Without even hearing me perform, he bought a copy of “Indiependent” for $10. His name was David. Thank you, David, for helping me have gas money to get back to Ohio.

  3. Last year, I took my first overseas trip. The longest flight I had ever been on before was probably 3 hours, from Ohio to Phoenix. This one was 13. I decided to officially become international and look for an open mic in Tokyo. Before I left, I searched online with no luck (primarily because I can’t read or speak Japanese). I posted on Facebook that I was looking for an open mic in Japan, and a fan of mine (who saw me perform in Dayton, OH and is currently living in Tokyo) told me about Cozmo’s Cafe. It’s owned by a woman from Cleveland. Two people who saw me perform there had also since me perform in Columbus, OH. That’s amazing to me!

Leave a Reply

