My open mic story

I had a great moment tonight at the open mic at Blind Bob’s in Dayton, Ohio.  There were about 15 people there, and halfway through the first song I felt like everyone was ignoring me.  Then I noticed a table with 2 people who were really enjoying it, changing my performance from practice to living the dream, and it reminded me just how big a role open mikes have had in my musical endeavors, ranging from building a following in Oxford, OH to officially being international by doing a few songs in Tokyo.  There are two sides to the story, the first being at Stadium Bar and Grille in Oxford, and the other side is all of the random moments in random towns in the eastern part of the US, and Tokyo.

I’m dividing this blog into those two sections, so if you want to know how I grew my biggest fan base and had my best year (in terms of number of fans at my shows), read about “Stadium open mic.”  If you want to know more about the random moments that have helped make my musical journey unique and amazing, read the “special open mic moments” blog.

Leave a Reply

