Playing For a Cure 2004

This was originally posted on my website the day after the inaugural Playing For a Cure, which took place September 27th, 2004, at the Madison Theater in Covington, KY.

Playing For A Cure – Sep 27, 2004

Mission Man here, with my heart felt thoughts on this special event.

This event was truly special. It took me 24+ hours after the show to realize how special because I was a bit distraught over the financial loss I’ve incurred for it, but it really was a special night. The show was one of the best concerts I’ve ever been to (just from a music fan’s standpoint), and I’m glad to have been a part of it. I put my heart and soul into this event for 3 months, and the effort is what makes the night special for me personally. The show was on the 10 year anniversary of when my mom passed away from cancer. I could feel, and can feel, how proud my mom is of me for putting this together. I honored her memory the best way I could, by giving this show everything I had, which is more than I thought I did. Two of my aunts (my mom’s sisters) got to see me perform for the first time at this event. That means a lot to me. My dad and my sister were also there, as were many people who I truly cared about. A friend of mine told me she was engaged, and going to be having a family of her own soon. What an incredible moment to have. Congratulations to that friend. You know who you are. I love you as a true friend, someone who I expect to be friends with until one of us goes onto the next life.

A couple celebrated their 35th (THIRTY-FIFTH!) wedding anniversary at the show. WOW! Those are the moments worth cherishing. 35 years together. It’s so rare; that kind of love is what makes life unbelievable. Congratulations to 35 years together to that couple. You’re an inspiration, and I don’t even know your names. I hope you make it another 35 years. 35 years, wow!

Special thanks. Thank you so much to every band who played at this event. Let Me Introduce You To The End, Ryan, thank you for coming down from Chicago and adding your unique art to the night. Abe, J Mello, Bionte, you guys were great. The Slight Eccentric, what is it about Detroit that makes you guys rock so well? That was freaking sweet! Dos Locos (All Stars), what can I say? Thank you for helping to make the night so special, and bringing the couple who celebrated their anniversary. Thank you for almost making me dance. I don’t do that when I’m sober. Buckra, thanks for being so patient, and still playing after being there for so long. Ray’s Music Exchange, I’m glad I got to see you perform, and I want to thank you for agreeing to do the show so quickly. Without you, I might not have been able to book this show. Kevin, at KarmaRecording.com, thank you for recording the show. I’m so glad we have a record of this night, and that many more people will be exposed to the wonderful music that was performed because of what you’ve done. Thank you to the girl who tried so hard to cheer me up. It definitely helped, eventually. Thank you to everyone who drove an hour to see me. Thank you Britney for taking a picture of me for your sister. Tell her I said hi. Thank you Jason, Sara, Michelle, A.J., and Holly, for coming down and for getting t-shirts. There are so many people to thank, so if I’ve forgotten anyone, I greatly apologize, but I am very thankful for every single person who came to the show. Thank you to the Madison Theater for hosting such an incredible event. You are my favorite venue. The best in the area, and the best I’ve ever performed in.

There will be pictures up soon. If anyone who went to the show has pictures, let me know, and I’ll try to get them up here.
I love you all so much,
Mission Man

.Playing For a Cure 2004 poster

Monday September 27th, 2004, 7:30 PM
Madison Theater Covington, KY

The show started with me, Mission Man.

Then we got to:

Let Me Introduce You To The End http://www.letmeend.com from Chicago

Singer/Songwriter Abraham Kuranga featuring J Mello

The Slight Eccentric http://www.theslighteccentric.com from Detroit

The Dos Locos All Stars

Buckra http://www.buckra.com

Ray’s Music Exchange http://www.raysmusicexchange.com

The show was recorded by Karma Recording http://www.KarmaRecording.com

Published by: Mission Man

I am a conscientious hip-hop musician, and have been rapping since 1992. I started playing drums, bass, guitar, and keyboard, in addition to producing my own music, starting in 1998. For full details, see the official website at MissionMan.net.

Categories Playing For a CureLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

